Trailblazers Award

BCALA Trailblazer's Award Recipients

The Trailblazer's Award is the highest award given by the Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc.. It is presented once every five years in recognition of an individual whose pioneering contributions have been outstanding and unique, and whose efforts have "blazed a trail" in the profession.

Recipients of the first BCALA Trailblazer's Award granted at the 20th Anniversary Celebration in 1990:

  • Dr. E.J. Josey
  • Dr. Virginia Lacy Jones
  • Ms. Clara Stanton Jones
  • Dr. Dorothy Burnett Porter Wesley


Recipient of the 5th BCALA Trailblazer Award presented at the BCALA 25th Anniversary Celebration in 1995:

  • Ms. Lucille Cole Thomas


Recipient of the 6th BCALA Trailblazer Award presented at the 30th Anniversary Celebration in 2000:

  • Dr. John C. Tyson


Recipient of the 7th BCALA Trailblazer Award presented at the 35th Anniversary Celebration in 2005:

  • Ms. Effie Lee Morris


Recipient of the 8th BCALA Trailbazer Award present at the 40th Anniversary Celebration in 2010

  • Mr. Robert Wedgeworth